Old Snapshot Deletion

Snapshots that sit around for too long outlive their usefulness for backup. Relying on manual deletions often means that old snapshots incur unnecessary cost until someone remembers to check on them. Our Old Snapshot solution sends alerts when snapshots outlive a given timeframe and can also delete them, either automatically or upon approval.

This section walks you through how to:

Configure the Old Snapshot Deletion Policy
Define the Scope of the Old Snapshots to Include
Define the Old Snapshot Time Period Thresholds for Deletion
Define the Old Snapshot Deletion Actions to Take
Configure the General Old Snapshot Deletion Policy Options
Customize the Old Snapshot Deletion Policy
Review Actions Taken by the Old Snapshot Deletion Policy
Notify Users on How to Use the Old Snapshot Deletion Policy

Configure the Old Snapshot Deletion Policy

To configure the Unused Storage Deletion Policy:

1. From the Policies screen, select the appropriate policy and click Apply.
2. Select the options to configure the policy.

Define the Scope of the Old Snapshots to Include

To define the scope of the Old Snapshots to include:

Determine which resources to evaluate for the Old Snapshot Deletion Policy.

To define scope using Select Accounts: Specify the list of accounts to evaluate. For example, you may wish to limit the deletion of storage to non-production accounts or to any subset of accounts.
To define scope using Tag filtering: Limit the scope within the selected accounts by specifying tags to exclude. For example, if your production and non-production resources are mixed in your cloud accounts, you can leverage this tag-based filtering functionality to limit the deletion based on an environment tag.

Define the Old Snapshot Time Period Thresholds for Deletion

Specify the age of the snapshot in number of days before deletion.

Define the Old Snapshot Deletion Actions to Take

To define the Old Snapshot Deletion actions to take:

Perform the following actions.

1. Configure users to be notified: Specify the list of recipients who should receive the storage deletion notifications. Add as many recipients as you like to the Email addresses of the recipients you wish to notify field. They do not need to be registered as Optima users.
2. Delete the actual snapshot.

Configure the General Old Snapshot Deletion Policy Options

To configure the general Old Snapshot Deletion Policy options:

Set the following standard policy configuration options when the Old Snapshot Deletion Policy is applied.

Frequency for policy to run: Specify the frequency the policy will perform the checks, such as weekly, daily, hourly, or every 15 minutes.
Fully automated vs approval required: Specify at the time it is applied whether the policy will take action after user approval versus automatically without user intervention. For details, see the Skip Action Approvals documentation.

Customize the Old Snapshot Deletion Policy

To customize the Old Snapshot Deletion Policy:

Policy designers can customize the Old Snapshot Deletion Policy definition as they choose.

Review Actions Taken by the Old Snapshot Deletion Policy

These actions may occur with approval or fully automated depending on whether the policy manager has selected the Skip approval option.

Any snapshots that meets the conditions specified will be Deleted.