Three new types of hardware assets added

IT Asset Management version 2021 R1.1
In IT Asset Management, a hardware asset record can have any one of multiple asset types, and those types fall into two classes:
  • Device types — so called because these assets may be linked to inventory devices
  • Non-device types — (such as a desk or telephone), which cannot.
This release brings three additional non-device types that you can use to categorize your hardware assets:
  • Data Storage
  • Mainframe
  • Network Appliance.
At first glance, the Mainframe type may seem misplaced: after all, it is a type of computer, like laptops and desktops. However, the FlexNet Inventory Agent cannot collect inventory from mainframe computers, so that this is correctly categorized as a 'non-device' type of asset.

IT Asset Management (Cloud)