Adding New Users

Important:You can add new Flexera One users if you have one of the following roles. For complete descriptions of each role available in Flexera One, see Flexera One Roles, or for information about IT Asset Management-specific authorizations, see Managing IT Asset Management Accounts.

Manage organization 
Administer organization 
Administrator for an IT Asset Management account

To add new users in Flexera One in order to give them an authentication mechanism for using the system, perform the following steps. To add users to an existing group, see Adding Users to an Existing Group.

Consider the following factors when sending invitations:

Only admin users can send account invitations.
If you are an admin user, you must specify a user's roles before sending an account invitation. Later, admins can change a user's roles on the Flexera One Users page.
Only an admin user can revoke another user's admin privileges.

Note:If you are adding a new IT Asset Management user, you must first add the user to Flexera One using the steps below. Then, you must grant IT Asset Management authorizations if the user does not already have any assigned. For more information about adding IT Asset Management authorizations, see Managing User Accounts within the IT Asset Management section of the help.

To add new users to Flexera One:

1. You can add users from either of the following pages:
From the User Management page (Administration > Identity Management > User Management), click the Invite User button.
From the Invitations page (Administration > Identity Management > Invitations), click the Invite User button.
2. On the Invite User slideout that appears, do the following:
Email field—Enter the email address of the user to add.
Roles tab—On the Roles tab, click the checkboxes of any roles you want to assign to the user. Also you can add the user to a group that contains multiple roles by making selections on the Group tab. For complete descriptions of each role available in Flexera One, see Flexera One Roles.
Group tab—Click the Group tab if you would like to add the user to a group. On the Group tab, click View Roles to see all of the roles that are associated to that group. For complete descriptions of each role available in Flexera One, see Flexera One Roles.

Note:If you add a user to a group containing any roles that you have also granted to the user on the Roles tab, keep in mind that removing the user from that group will not remove any associated roles you have granted on the Roles tab.

3. Click Send Invitation.
4. If you have added an IT Asset Management user, you must also grant IT Asset Management authorizations if the user does not already have any assigned. For more information about adding IT Asset Management authorizations, see IT Asset Accounts within the IT Asset Management section of the help.
5. Repeat these steps for all users needing access in your Organization.

Note:Expired invitations are purged from the backend database 30 days after the invitation expires. Invitations expire 7 days after they are sent if they are not accepted or are declined.

Adding Users to an Existing Group

In addition to adding users from the User Management page, you can add users to an existing group. This provides the ability to do a bulk update of users within a group.

To add new users to an existing group:

1. Go to the Group Management page (Administration > Identity Management > Group Management).
2. Click the name of the group you are adding users to. You can use the filter on the Group name column to help find the group you are searching for when the list of groups is large.

When you click the group name, the group record slideout appears with tabs available for Details, Roles, Users, and Billing Centers.

3. Click the Users tab within that group.

The Users tab displays a list of users that can be added or removed from the group. If there are any users already in the group, those users appear at the top of list (with check boxes selected).

4. To add users to the group, click the check boxes next to those users and click Save. To remove a user, deselect the check boxes of those users and click Save. You can also select all or deselect all users using the check box at the top of the selection column before clicking Save.
5. If you have added an IT Asset Management user to a group, you must also grant IT Asset Management authorizations if the user does not already have any assigned. For more information about adding IT Asset Management authorizations, see IT Asset Accounts within the IT Asset Management section of the help.